Author Topic: Hand Entered Prices Disappeared  (Read 3731 times)

Offline meksmk

• View Profile
    • Email
Hand Entered Prices Disappeared
« on: November 22, 2013, 09:47:47 PM »
I'm new to the program and have a question.  I've started to putting in coins.  I was entering price information for some coins.  However, when I installed the update today, I lost all those entries.  I know that you update pricing information every few months.  But when you do the update, do you overwrite all the price information for all coins?  Even the manually entered ones?  If so, how can I have it that it doesn't?  I see you can save price information.  But if I do that, then update the program and then somehow restore the old values I'll loose the updates to some of the coins that you provided.  I'm in a quandary.

Thanks,

Mike

Offline meksmk

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hand Entered Prices Disappeared
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2013, 08:43:35 AM »
Ok.  I'll sweeten the pot a little since there have been reads but no responses for this newbie.

I know that you can put in a Buy Price and lock it which will "solve" my problem in some sense.  But that causes the realized gain (or loss - yes want has gotten the best of me at times so I have over paid...) to be off.  I might have paid $1 and it's worth $3.  But by locking the price at the value, you get a $3 gain on reports and on the side bar summary for the series when in reality it really is only $2.

There are values for some coins and grades according to NumisMedia for example that are not represented in the delivered values.  I want a reasonable approximation of value for the collection and not a placeholder that says "melt value" or "face value."

One reason I liked the program was I could put in a price on the pricing tab and it would apply to all the coins for that series and that grade.  And with over 4,000 coins (and growing), that's no small win for me!