Author Topic: Entering large collections, any tips and tricks  (Read 13946 times)

thuskey

Entering large collections, any tips and tricks
« on: February 20, 2013, 04:23:54 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to exact change and I am currious, how everyone is entering large collections. For instance, I have 2 or 3 hundred Jefferson Nickels (not to mention the thousands of old wheat pennys), do I just enter in the best examples of a year and mint mark or all of them.  For coins I do not have a complete collection, is their an easy way to to list needed coins (without having to enter them one at a time. Is there a way to list set or collection?  I have a BU set of Jefferson nickels and another set of circulated and uncirculated.  So far the only way I have figured out to do this is to put something in the location field (like "Set BU Jefferson Nickels"). As I have only been using the program for a few days, just trying to see what tips and tricks I am missing. I will be checking the forum everday, hope to have some interesting discussions
Tom

Offline Wild Man

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Exact Change software for coin and currency collectors
    • Email
Re: Entering large collections, any tips and tricks
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2013, 03:59:25 AM »
Hi,
   You’ll probably want to list all the coins in your collection just so that you can get a good assessment of what you’ve got.  Especially if that happens to include silver, regardless of its condition, as it will still add to the calculation of total precious metals.  Personally, I enter slabbed coins individually but when I’m entering a box of worn wheat cents or some such thing I’ll make a single entry for the entire box and simply note how many there are in the quantity field.  Attaching images is much the same, you may want to include an image of your prized possessions but it doesn’t make sense to scan every coin.